top of page
  • Writer's picturecchung30

Industrialization and its Effects on Korea's Food Culture


Produced by Caleb Chung


In this episode of the Taste of Place podcast, we are joined by two guest speakers: Sohui Chung, my mother and Caleb Chung, my father (yes, we have the same name). Together, we will be exploring the changes that industrialization has had on Korea's food culture and how technology has helped globalize Korean food, through the first-hand accounts of our special guests. Both Sohui and Caleb were born and raised in Korea during the transition from pre-industrialized to industrialized Korea during the early 1970s so they have experiences from both worlds to share.



I was very excited to create this remediation as I felt like I was missing the voice of somebody who has witnessed and experienced the changes discussed in my academic paper first-hand. Through this podcast, I was able to very literally capture the voice of my parents and use them to further my understanding as to the extent of change industrialization has caused. I am very grateful to have access to two accounts as it is, quite literally, twice as good as just one account. Any experiences that two accounts have in common become that much more credible and we can compare how some experiences were different and why that was the case. We discussed aspects of food culture I initially hadn't even considered such as school food and I pushed my very non-tech-savvy self to make something creative. When I finished the interview with my parents and listened to the recording, I realized that I had approximately thirty minutes of audio, half of which could not be used due to the time limit. It was extremely difficult to determine which portions to cut and which to keep as I continuously cut and connected sound clips. I will admit that the audio editing and manual input of subtitles was also very difficult, but these difficulties made completing the project all the more satisfying. I am very happy with my final product and am looking forward to sharing what I have learned through my research and interview with everyone.


Works Cited


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page